Clouds and Cloud Dough With Preschoolers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
After learning about the water cycle last week, I thought that it would be fun to do a review of what we learned and have some sensory play!  I began by using the felt water cycle illustrations and vocabulary.  We went through and discussed the cycle again.  I was really impressed with how much the preschoolers remembered from the prior week!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next, we created another water cycle.  I used a burner with a pot of water boiling water and another pot filled with snow.  I created a deep barricade around me so no child could come close the the burner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next, I lifted the snow-filled pot above the boiling pot.  You should have heard the oooos and ahhhs!  After a couple seconds, we saw rain fall!  It was really cool!  We talked about how easy it would be to do this at home, especially when making dinner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had several books available for the kids to read.  I decided to read “Shapes in the Sky,” by Josepha Sherman.  This is an illustrated book that names the different types of clouds in ways that are engaging and easy for children to understand.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After that, I got out the materials needed to create “cloud” dough.  I explained how we could form some of the clouds that we just read about-plus that it is so soft and smells great!  I used big tubs for a couple groups and smaller tubs for pairs.  I also had the flour and baby oil.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I mixed about two cups of flour with a couple of squeezes of baby oil.  I would say I used about 1/4 cup of baby oil, however, some of the children wanted it stickier, so I added more.  The kids went nuts! They loved it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They made the cumulus clouds…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and stratus clouds!

The children really enjoyed playing with the cloud dough.  Some children have been too “grossed-out” to touch some of the slime and dough that we have made in the past, however, they all wanted to touch this dough.  Some of the children even wanted to take some home!  I ended up making some at home for my children and we put different toys in it, such as dinosaur counters.  Most of the dough washed out of the toys, but not all.  A warning to any of you that may want to try this at home or in a school- THIS MAKES A GIANT MESS!!!  The mess was very scary to me at first, but the vacuum was able to pick a lot of it up.

Enjoy!

~Miss Jenny

 

Leave a Reply

