Growing Bean Seeds with Preschoolers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think that I speak for most of us in Michigan when I say, I AM READY FOR SPRING!  So ready, in fact, that I decided to skip to some of my spring lessons.  We began by reading “The Seed Song” by Judy Saksie.  There really isn’t too much to this book.  It is a song about growing seeds, but I really wanted to show the pictures to the children and I had it in big book format which made it even better.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After reading the book and going over the pictures, and after all of the children shared their “seed” or “spring” stories, we sat down to create our own small books to take home.  I found the tiny books here.  They take you though the different stages of a seed growing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On each page, the children colored in the pictures.  This child drew rain falling down onto the seed to help it grow-so smart!  We went through the book together page by page.  On a side note, I want to apologize for some of the blurry pictures lately.  I bought a new camera which is so much easier to carry around and it is even waterproof-but I seem to be getting a lot more blur!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After most children finished their books, we started to plant the seeds.  Each child had two green bean seeds, one piece of paper towel and a sandwich bag.  I had a piece of tape with the child’s name on it and a small pop bottle with holes on the top filled with water, to water the seeds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really wanted the children to be completely hands on with this one.  The pop bottle really helped!  As long as the children didn’t squeeze too hard, just enough water came out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When finished, we hung them up on the window.  We weren’t finished yet!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We decided to change some of the variables by asking questions.  One child said “what would happen if we didn’t have the paper towel in the bag?  We decided to find out.  We also wrapped one in a ball of paper towel, one with no water…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAone under water…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and one with no sunlight.

I am really excited to watch the children watch their beans grow.  I really hope that each child gets at least one to grow!  I will update this post with more pictures in a few days.

Enjoy!

~ Miss Jenny

**UPDATE**

After three days, we were able to observe the bean seeds enlarging.

After three days, we were able to observe the bean seeds enlarging.

I also had the children draw pictures of what they predict will happen next to their seeds.

I also had the children draw pictures of what they predict will happen next to their seeds.  

After ten days, we had beautiful sprouts!  Most of the children had at least one sprout grow.  At this time the children took their beans home.

After ten days, we had beautiful sprouts! Most of the children had at least one sprout grow. At this time the children took their beans home.

Even the wrapped up seeds grew sprouts!  The underwater one, the no water one, and the no sunlight one did not grow.

Even the wrapped up seeds grew sprouts! The underwater one, the no water one, and the no sunlight one did not grow.

 

Leave a Reply

