Growing Heads with Grass Hair

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I put out the books for the children to go through when they were finished with their snack.  We have been talking about seeds for a couple weeks now.  I have had these books with me each week. At this age, repeated reading is extremely important.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The kids were so excited to look through the books!  They were able to recognize the parts of a plant, different seeds, and were overall very interested! I loved it!!! For time sake, I actually had to stop them so we could move on!  This week we were going to grow grass seeds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are the materials that I gathered for our grass seed project:

  • potting mix
  • clear cups (one for each child, one cup for seeds, one cup for potting mix)
  • gloves
  • googly eyes (I got the ones with sticky backs, so I didn’t need the glue)
  • grass seeds
  • a garage bag to try to keep things clean
  • marker to create the face

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First, the children created faces on their cups using the eyes and marker.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next, we created an assembly line.  I had one cup with the potting mix in it and one cup with the seeds in it (we added a lot of seeds to make a full head of hair).  The children poured the potting soil in, then the seeds, then another cup of the potting soil.  Then they added water.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is the finished product! So cute! We can’t wait for the “hair” to grow.

We read on the seeds that it could take 10-14 days for the seeds to germinate.  I told the children that we would have to wait and be patient :).

A week later, the seeds did not appear to grow.  The children were not disappointed because they said "you told us it would take a LONG time."  I thought that was really cute.

A week later, the seeds did not appear to grow. The children were not disappointed because they said “you told us it would take a LONG time.” I thought that was really cute.  We watered them again and waited.

I will update with pictures after the cups grow “hair.”  We did this with our children at home and they came out really cute.  I can’t wait to see the results from our class!

Enjoy!

~Miss Jenny

 

Leave a Reply

